We use cookies for monitoring visitor numbers only and we do not store any personal details. Learn more...

Member helpline 01738 448325

Dunfermline to become Scotland's eighth city - Perthshire Chamber of Commerce

Dunfermline to become Scotland's eighth city

Dunfermline is to become Scotland's eighth city after being granted the status as part of the Queen's Platinum Jubilee celebrations.

The town in Fife was chosen along with seven others across the UK and overseas territories.

It joins Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen, Dundee, Perth, Stirling and Inverness on the list of Scottish cities.

Dunfermline was once Scotland's capital - and was the birthplace of Charles I and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie.

About 40 locations applied for city status and were evaluated by a panel of experts and Cabinet Office ministers, before a recommendation was put to the Queen.

They were judged on their royal associations and cultural heritage, as well as the uniqueness of their communities and distinct local identity.

Dunfermline was successful in its bid alongside Bangor in Northern Ireland, Colchester, Doncaster and Milton Keynes in England, Douglas in the Isle of Man, Stanley in the Falkland Islands and Wrexham in Wales.

The Scottish bids that missed out this time around were Dumfries, Elgin, Greenock, Livingston, Oban, St Andrews and South Ayrshire.


News Articles

© 2022 Perthshire Chamber of Commerce | Registered in Scotland 21856 | VAT No: 270 6586 43 | Website by Broxden